Making Collections… Why Im persevering with Photoshop.

I find photoshop an absolute nightmare, but I believe that you need to spend more time on your weaknesses than your strengths, and so, (while I’d rather be painting, collaging and water-colouring) I’ve been literally spending days at a time practicing on photoshop. It can take me a  whole day just to edit one motif that I don’t even love that much! Why? Because I have amazing creations and ideas in my portfolio, that I’m not game to touch in photoshop until I have the skills to create in digital form what my imagination creates in full glorious perfectly edited colour. This process, instead of being daunting, therefore is becoming inspiring as I learn each new skill in my personal technological nightmare that is CS5. 

So here it is… a “Collection” in the loosest, lamest form of the word. I don’t love it, I don’t even like it, (well, I do love the butterflies a little bit.. ok, maybe a lot…) but I’m sharing because in a year from now I want to be able to look back on this post.. and these creations… and not just wince, but glow with pride in how far I’ve come. … In a year I hope to be posting photoshopped embroidered surface artistry that has been made into AMAZING textile collections. It’s a brave dream, but I am committed! Tomorrow The Lilla Rogers Global Talent Search Top 50 will be announced… you never know… she might have seen something in my art and I might be sharing success with you even sooner! 

DARE TO DREAM!! 

Introducing …”In flight in the Flower Garden”

butterflyflowergarden

 

 

This would look adorable as a retro little girls dress with an "in flight" sash

This would look adorable as a retro little girls dress with an “in flight” sash

If you've ever seen butterflies swarming a field.. ...

If you’ve ever seen butterflies swarming a field.. …

Wrapping paper? These colours were bright, happy and fun to work with...

Wrapping paper? These colours were bright, happy and fun to work with…

 

Bec x

Leave a Reply

